top of page

crisp

I feel lost

I shuffle the rustling leaves

feel the breeze that greeted the ravine a couple steps away

hear the wind that seemed to forsake me once before

it was all in my mind

my mind had twisted the beauty

the beauty of this world

the translucent waters had turned murky

but now they reflect the skies

I look up to see my reflection

to then look down and see a face smiling back at me

the sun that had once caused me

such pain, such smoldering agony

now became my (high)light

To feel the warmth of love

to just bask in its radiance

was different when you had lived in its absence for so much time before

its absence fostered craving

a craving only satiated by watching the lone leaf dangle confidently from the twig

strong, persistent, unafraid

definitely unapologetic

we were in love with life too much to hit the ground yet

We would hit the ground on our terms

not to be mistaken for other softening leaves on the floor

but to be our own in all our crispness

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page