top of page

how is

How’s college

Such a loaded question

It’s full of so many answers

so much bs

it’s easy to spew them at you

it’s fine

it’s good

it’s cold

that’s the most common

but it’s rough

why is it rough?

wish I could answer that

wish I could

some days I feel like galloping

galloping through Harvard yard

some days I don’t feel like getting out

of bed

bed

it’s so warm and comforting

unlike this

I don’t know why I’m here

that’s the most horrifying part

I don’t know why I’m here

I never wanted a name attached to mine

I just wanted mine

Frances

it was enough for me

it made me happy

I didn’t need it to be prefaced

prefaced by something else

by an institution

a set of rules

a set of expectations

a set of everything

not just who I am

It’s just 4 years

you say

just clench your mouth

and stay

easy isn’t it?

No.

It’s 4 years

4 years down the drain

of why I came

it leaves me writhing

Life shouldn’t be a game

but that’s how I’m treating it

it’s me

it’s my fault

I need to know

I’m not like most here

I’m not striving for the top

I thought I was

but I came

and realized this wasn’t my shit

this wasn’t the battle I was here to fight

the moment I realized that

was the moment

the shit hit the fan

I am clawing for an explanation

a reasoning

a meaning

how wistful and pitiful

Harvard is great don’t get me wrong

but I haven’t found life here

I’ve found pockets of it

but it hasn’t consumed the campus

not yet

or maybe I’m pushing it away

maybe I don’t want to love this campus

not yet

we’ll see

I have a year, maybe three

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page