top of page

I Vow

When will it stop being about politics and more about our humanity?

Sure I may be naive, I may be too young to understand, I may be too unimportant to have an opinion, I may be too emotional to think rationally, I may be too idealistic to put our lives ahead of our money... But I know that life is the most valuable thing of all.

And yet we're letting it waste away on the floors of night clubs, churches, schools, and libraries as we hear the haunting screams from the phones of those who have died in vain. Families grip each other's shirts at dawn as they pray that this never happen again.

But it's all in vain.

We sit behind our computers, scrolling through social media as we try to thaw the numbness as we witness post after post about the anger we feel, an anger that is so quick to fade. We claim that we will do something about it as we post rainbow heart emojis and feel the tears streak down our anguished faces. And yet we forget those moments, those tears, that passion... leaving the next murderer eager to strike and watch the hysteria return.

How will history books remember us? How will we be seen? As the generation... as the society that couldn't do anything? That couldn't be bothered with life, but more with how to keep power? I don't want to have to question whether I want to have kids because I don't want to bring them into such a twisted world where wrong is normal and right is radical. I don't want my children to live in fear that they will be raped with no justice to be found, shot with no righteousness to be obtained, acknowledged with nothing in return. And I for one do not want to live a life where I will have to look behind my shoulder to see if there is someone emerging from the shadows to haunt me in my dreams, a world where I will have to think of a million different ways to hide in case of a shooting, or a world where I will have to think of every time with friends as the last because we couldn't be bothered to do anything about it.

I will do something about this. I will come back and read this post and do something about the injustice and the anger I felt today. Because I'm fed up. I'm fed up with how no one has bothered to do anything about this apathy for life.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page