top of page

Survive

Inspired by "Like a fool" by Keira Knightley

Staring at the moonlit night, driving through the empty streets with nothing but the crickets to keep us company, watching the dew drops form in the morning, staring into the soul of the moon as it greeted us good night. It all meant nothing to you. Nothing but lies to get me where you wanted as you fed me your dark smiles lit by the moonlight as I fell for the facade and what was merely a reflection of the beautiful world around me. You pretended to listen, only to let my words become things you would throw into my face when you desired. You made me think I was capable of love, that I wasn't as broken as I had once been. You made me think that you were going to stay to mend me as the pieces of my body lay in the grass, only to be accompanied by the ants that came for nourishment. I thought you'd be different but that was my mistake. To think that you would be different. To think that you wouldn't take my heart and treat it as nothing just as each and every other one had. It was my mistake to think that I mattered to you as a person. That the days spent in your room with nothing but the sound of our laughter to disturb us would be a glimpse into our future.

But that's alright. You've found your happiness. You've found what gives you the joy to wake up every day as I've found what gives me a reason to become drunk on my tears and fall into bed only to wake up to the wretched sound of the birds chirping outside my window. You found what makes you excited to live your life. I've found what makes me sick to the stomach to talk to others and to doubt them in each movement because I've learned better than to trust.

But that's alright. You'll live and I'll survive.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page