top of page

Please Handle with Care | Fragile

Too often we don't realize that what we say and we do have more impact than we actually think because of the implications, the possible interpretations, and the maturity they insinuate. In all situations, it's hard to handle them with maturity and grace especially if you can't help but think of all the low-blows or every single petty way you could respond to evoke the desired reaction because you want to hurt them the same way that they hurt you.

I am confident when I say that I am not proud of some of the things that I have said and done in my past: I've regretted some of my decisions and have paid for the consequences as a result. But what I realized these past few months is that I have to handle things more with care because the people and the situations are so fragile, more than we think. I never knew how much of an impact that 5 words could have on a person until I felt it firsthand: words that were never meant to be uttered but "slipped out"... how much they can hurt and how much of a lasting impression they can have. I don't want to believe that people have malicious intent in what they say: I want to think that they always mean the best and they never meant to harm or to insult. But I've learned that we live in a society that highlights and bolds even the slightest of mistakes - the comment we left on Facebook, the comment we made in an interview, a passing remark: they're all emphasized and magnified because we, as a society, have an utter and absolute fascination with the abomination.

But in all of this, I've found that maturity is the hardest thing to maintain because it's so easy to slip into the habit of reacting impulsively and disregarding the possible repercussions. The words I say are uttered loosely and without thought, honestly. I never know what I could say to ruin a person's day or to cripple his/her self-esteem: I just don't know, and neither do a lot of people because it's so difficult to be careful and to maintain that sort of caution in all circumstances. But I think it's something that we need to think of everyday because it's the little things that count, that hurt, that last...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page