top of page

Compassion

Recently someone asked me what makes me special: what makes me stand out from my peers. The question stumped me because I knew that it had always been my aspiration to stand out, to be different, to be special, but in that moment I had no answer as to how exactly I was not black & white and instead was colorful.

But I have my answer now.

I am compassionate. I will not stop until I have helped someone to the best of my abilities. Why am I in Key Club & Pen on Paper? To give a voice to those who may not have the capabilities to find a voice for themselves. We all need a push from somewhere; we all have a story to tell; we all have needs to be met: but again we all have hard times and problems that continue to press us until we're on the verge of breaking and falling. I want to be their crutch. I'm not afraid to be the dissenter with ideas separate from those of the authorities in our lives. Lately I've seen the powerful, the "respected", the influential utilize their benefits as the socially, financially, and politically prominent to aid themselves, not to aid the people in our society who have had everything stripped from them: only to leave them with a false sense of hope. Granted the words I use make it seem as though we live in a dystopian society with a power hungry authority: I don't mean it that way - not exactly. I want to be someone who has the ability, the power, the stance to give back to the people who could not find any benefits for themselves in our community. Does it sound like the same ideals our founding fathers had for our beloved nation? Maybe but I'm not exactly on the same wavelength as them.

I have seen my friends get stepped on and continue to be trampled on as such because of circumstances they couldn't control in their lives. It's unfair. Sure some say that life isn't fair but I don't agree that we should continue to let it be unfair because the phrase "Life isn't fair" exists. I want to use that phrase as a motivator for me to make the world a little more fair than it was before.

Maybe it doesn't even need to be fair: it just needs to give us a chance to get up after we fall instead of remaining on the floor.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page